Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

On May 28, 2015, the Board of Directors of the Al-Amanah Islamic Investment Bank of the Philippines appointed Isidro Abas Sobrecarey as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer. He was earlier appointed as Board Director by His Excellency President Benigno S. Aquino III.

Chairman Sobrecarey first joined DBP in 1986 when he was Vice President and Head of the Southern Regional Management Team in Davao City with 12 bank branches. Rejoining DBP in 2011, he was Chief of Staff of the Board Chairman, and later Head of Corporate Affairs.  Prior to his appointment in Amanah Bank, he was Sr. Vice President and Head of the DBP Institute, the bank’s think tank. 

He held senior and executive positions in the UN-affiliated Association of Development Financing Institutions in Asia and the Pacific (ADFIAP), San Miguel Corporation, Philippine Export-Import Credit Agency, Public Estates Authority, and Presidential Management Staff. He was a faculty member of the University of Asia and the Pacific, and Associate Director of Asian Institute of Management’s Gov. Jose B. Fernandez, Jr. Center for Banking and Finance. 

With his stints in the government and business sectors he was directly involved in various Mindanao projects. His special assignments included being a member of the Presidential Task Force for Mindanao Rehabilitation and Development (RAD-Mindanao) based in Zamboanga City. In San Miguel Corp., he concurrently headed SMC’s Brunei-Indonesia-Malaysia-Philippines East ASEAN Growth Area or BIMP-EAGA business unit.

Chairman Sobrecarey was an awardee of the Lester B. Pearson Fellowship from the International Development Research Centre in Ottawa, Canada; and UN Fellowship from the United Nations Centre for Regional Development in Nagoya, Japan.

Born and raised in Mindanao, he finished AB Economics at Xavier University in Cagayan de Oro City. He took up graduate courses in Economics at Ateneo de Manila University, and obtained MA in Development Economics at Williams College, USA.


Chairman: Corporate Governance Committee

Chairman: Executive Committee

Member: Risk Oversight Committee